The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    User Info Menu

    Another goodwill guitar. To me, it looks fake. Those sell currently for $7000 new with a case. So it a good candidate to make a knock off. Whats your verdict?

    Gibson Double Neck Electric Guitar Cherry Finish #017160623 Made In U.s.a. | ShopGoodwill.com

    is it real, or is it fake? you decide-screenshot_20241122-162923_firefox-jpg

  2.  

    The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
     
  3. #2

    User Info Menu

    The definition of scam websites..

  4. #3

    User Info Menu

    It is close but... no custom shop logo or serial number (i.e., CS##'s), the "Made in USA" insignia is a sticker? What is it covering? l see print underneath it ("China"?)

    Actually, seems they're not all custom shop products, but the serial number still looks suspicious:
    2002 Gibson DS ED 1275 DOUBLENECK Guitar Excellent Condition +Case Candy | eBay

    Probably a relative of this one -- Custom 1969 EDS-1275 SG Double Neck Electric Guitar Jimmy Page 12+6 Cherry Red | eBay

    Can't believe people would bid up such a suspicious looking guitar, but they did the same on a fake Fender custom shop Telecaster before I provided the Good Will seller with convincing evidence that it was counterfeit and they cancelled the auction - bidding exceeded $2k on that one too before cancellation.

  5. #4

    User Info Menu

    I agree. The shoulders, for a lack of a better term, look a little to rounded off or something to me as well.

  6. #5

    User Info Menu

    I would expect the Custom Shop to be better at alignment.

  7. #6

    User Info Menu

    Man I'll bet that weighs a ton.....

    Calculating -

    For sure Qty 2 - 2 P/U SG's plus another set of strings, tuners etc ??

    Edit -

    I just saw they estimate shipping weight at 7 #.....Doubtful.....

  8. #7

    User Info Menu

    It appears that the seller realized this guitar was likely a fake and cancelled the auction -- Gibson Double Neck Electric Guitar Cherry Finish #017160623 Made In U.s.a. | ShopGoodwill.com

  9. #8

    User Info Menu

    Yep. They reposted it as a replica gibson. But the thing is already up to $500. I saw there was one of the double necks in the seized fake guitar shipment. It looked very similar to the goodwill one but was blue.
    is it real, or is it fake? you decide-screenshot_20241127-035809_firefox-jpg
    is it real, or is it fake? you decide-screenshot_20241127-035814_firefox-jpg

  10. #9

    User Info Menu


  11. #10

    User Info Menu

    The Goodwill guitar is the same model as the cheap Chinese fake Tele in the two eBay advertisements, but not necessarily the same guitar. They probably all have the same serial number.

  12. #11

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Litterick
    The Goodwill guitar is the same model as the cheap Chinese fake Tele in the two eBay advertisements, but not necessarily the same guitar. They probably all have the same serial number.
    Or the seller is using the same photos in multiple listings. If the seller was trying to sell the same guitar more than once, I don't think they would say "sold 1, 2 available." It's also interesting that despite the "Fender" markings, the seller(s) aren't trying to pass these off as authentic Fenders.

  13. #12

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by jazzshrink
    Or the seller is using the same photos in multiple listings. If the seller was trying to sell the same guitar more than once, I don't think they would say "sold 1, 2 available." It's also interesting that despite the "Fender" markings, the seller(s) aren't trying to pass these off as authentic Fenders.
    Yes, the eBay sellers aren't advertising them as counterfeit and their prices reflect that. Obviously the Good Will bidders are ignoring the "unbranded guitar" statement in the listing, and in fact the bidding is higher on this fake than on real Fender telecasters for sale on the site!

  14. #13

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by jazzshrink
    Or the seller is using the same photos in multiple listings. If the seller was trying to sell the same guitar more than once, I don't think they would say "sold 1, 2 available." It's also interesting that despite the "Fender" markings, the seller(s) aren't trying to pass these off as authentic Fenders.
    The two eBay advertisements use the same photographs. Both advertisers claim to manufacture these guitars. One says, 'If you need do Custom shop order ,you can send message to me ,we can talk about the order details tegother [sic]'. The other says, 'We are a professional guitar manufacturer and can provide you with the best services and products.' One or both might be lying. This is Chinatown, Jake.

    The Goodwill guitar is advertised with different photographs. Goodwill's advertisement says it is being sold by Goodwill industries of New Mexico, which is situated at 1201 S Renaissance Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107. You could visit that store and see the guitar. The previous owner of this guitar probably bought it from one of the advertisers on eBay.

  15. #14

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Mick-7
    Yes, the eBay sellers aren't advertising them as counterfeit and their prices reflect that. Obviously the Good Will bidders are ignoring the "unbranded guitar" statement in the listing, and in fact the bidding is higher on this fake than on real Fender telecasters for sale on the site!
    The eBay sellers both claim to be manufacturers of these guitars. One or both might be lying.

  16. #15

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Mick-7
    At least that one doesn't claim to be Gibson.

  17. #16

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Mick-7
    Wow, look at that, fake Fender neck plate, serial number and all!
    Unbranded Electric Guitar | ShopGoodwill.com
    Well, someone got burned, sold for over 3 times the price of the eBay copies.

    I did message the seller yesterday but got no reply. In general, Good Will sellers are slow about responding to emails.

  18. #17

    User Info Menu

    definitely fake. People can now do so many different thing online, using modern tools and AI. I created a portfolio site using Wix wix.pissedconsumer.com/customer-service.html and was genuinely impressed by how intuitive it was. Drag-and-drop features made building the layout fun, and there are tons of templates to choose from. For someone without any coding experience, it felt great to launch something that looked polished and professional.
    Last edited by benhatchins; 07-20-2025 at 04:22 PM.