The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 104

User Info Menu

I am new to jazz, and would like to buy an archtop. I like the look of the Peerless Monarch.

My worries are:

1. the lack of a tone control, although I saw the guitar in the states with a tone control!, Is this same guitar available in the UK?
    2. The floating pick up and solid top, does anyone have feedback issues, I don't want to play to loud , but heard that some people had issues even at lounge levels

Has anyone replaced the pick up with the shadow Attila Zoller floating jazz guitar humbucker?

Any comments on this guitar very welcome cheers

Peerless Monarch-peerless-monarch-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I have also always liked the look of the Peerless Monarch! I can't talk from experience of actually playing it but just for what it is worth, if everything else about the guitar seemed to be right, I personally would probably go ahead and get one. You could always look to adding a tone control on the fingerboard at a later date. If you're just going to use it for solo playing at lounge level though, I would guess that you could pretty much get the tone you need just with the amp controls.

But my (I admit limited) experience has been that for archtops, if the guitar has a poor tone acoustically, then this will have a negative impact on the amplified sound, and having, or not having, a tone control will do nothing to rescue the situation. So I guess what I'm saying is try to play the guitar a lot before you buy, and if everything else is good i.e. tone, playability, looks, quality, then it is a go-er, and if you want a tone you can always put one on later.

The Shadow pickup looks nice, I'm sure someone have some info to give you on that one!

User Info Menu