The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 41 of 41

User Info Menu

Phrygian sounds great over that change. Never suggested it was a "Phrygian tune."

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

No need to shut up, I was just trying to give the OP a little Phrygian fodder.

Truthfully, it sounds to me like playing scales over tunes is the wring direction to push him. I hate ducking people ip.

It's a worthwhile discussion though...what the notes tell us versus what the players tell us.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fuzzthebee
    Maybe the end vamp of Wayne Shorter's Ana Maria (if I recall correctly) would be good Phrygian fodder.
    But that tune's...tough!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by tomems
    I have been a jazz beginner for 16 years! If I knew what I was doing, I wouldn't come to this site... Certainly chord tones are where it's at but that doesn't sound very Phrygian to me. I like the sound of an E chord with the b9 over it...
    Here's my 2 cents: I disagree with some of what's being said here. If you can reduce changes, by all means reduce them! There is no need to play every-single-damn-change. No need to do it. We're trying to make music here and the most important thing is that it's MELODIC. If you can reduce 4 bars of music to one scale, do it, but make a nice melody out of it.

With that being said, the historical context so far has been pretty on point. The scale that we refer to as "phrygian dominant" or "spanish phrygian" is the 5th mode of the Harmonic Minor scale. So if we're dealing with a E or E7 chord, the reference point would be A Harmonic Minor. What's going on in these spanish sounding tunes is they've made the V chord sound like "home" instead of making it sound like the last stop before home. So, if you wanted, you could play B-7(b5) to E7(b9) licks and they'd work.