The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi All,

I haven't played Doxy in probably 10 years and just started playing this tune again. I don't know why, but I did a deep dive into a bunch of recordings in a way I don't do for every tune and was kind of surprised with what I found. For the head, I studied about 12 different versions including versions in a couple of fake books and great players (e.g., Bob mintzer) on you tube. I don't think I found any two versions with the same head in terms of the pitches. As just one of multiple examples, in the second bar of the B section, I found recordings that played a G note to a Bb, a G to a C, and a G to Db. The last note in the B section was also any of those notes (Bb, C, or Db) depending on the recording. The A section also had pitch differences between recordings. I am used to hearing melody pitches altered in great American songbook tunes, but I was a little surprised by the wide variability in a jazz head written by a jazz musician. If I do the same for say some Monk tunes or Bird tunes, will I find the same thing? I have usually learned tunes from a couple of recordings. I don't know that I have ever studied so many versions of the same tune before, but I did find the pitch variability to be interesting and a little surprising. There is no "right" head for Doxy. Lol.

Thanks,
    Rick

Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

If I do the same for say some Monk tunes or Bird tunes, will I find the same thing?
    yes.

I spent the time learning things by ear just to have to go back and relearn stuff from the real book or iReal after playing live. Easier for me to relearn the real book version than demand everyone else stop reading.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by AllanAllen
    yes.