The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 109

User Info Menu

I was looking to purchase the Charlie Parker Omnibook.

A lot of musicians work out of it and i wanted to get something that deals with Charlie Parker's solos.

I noticed there are different versions and i'm kind of new to reading so i don't know which one to get.

The one for C instruments has everything in the key of C but it doesn't match up with the recordings.

I would appreciate the help thank you

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jazzdvd
    Hi guys i need some help i was looking to purchase the charlie parker omnibook i notice alot of musicians work out of it and i wanted to get something that deals with charlie parkers solo and i noticed theres different versions and i'm kind of new to reading so i don't know which one to get.The one for c instruments has everything in the key of c and it doesn't match up with the recordings.I would appreciate the help thank you
    This comes up from time to time. If you play guitar, you want the edition for "C" instruments. That "C" does not refer to what key the tunes are in! Flute is a "C" instrument. I think violin is too. Some horns are "Bb" instruments while others are "Eb" ones.

If you've ever looked at a Jamey Aebersold play-along book, you will notice that the heads are divided into sections, with treble coming first. That's us, the "C" players Then you'll see the same heads written for Bb instruments, then for Eb instruments. And also bass clef.

So again, you want the Omnibook for "C" instruments.

Thank you for the reply i appreciate it...but on some of the tunes i notice that there is no key signature how do i know what key it's in?

User Info Menu

Thank you for the reply i appreciate it...but on some of the tunes i notice that there is no key signature how do i know what key it's in?
    all the accidentals are written in.