The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 78

User Info Menu

Does anybody else get this same frustration that I get?!

I envy piano players so much - left hand coming whilst soloing makes everything sound much more organic - especially outside playing. Just the general sound of a piano and it's versatility is really starting to appeal to me...the one thing that I love about jazz guitar is chord melody ala joe pass, Martin Taylor etc but I find myself listening and envying great piano players like
    Herbie, McCoy, bill Evans, keither Jarrett, Oscar Peterson etc much more than I listen to great guitarists.....I've been playing for about 9 years and I am starting to think that giving up on jazz guitar and starting to get to grips with learning jazz piano is the only thing that will satisfy my ears at the moment!!

Any advice? Or similar feelings from
    Any of you guys?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by oleo20
    I am starting to think that giving up on jazz guitar and starting to get to grips with learning jazz piano is the only thing that will satisfy my ears at the moment!!
    Why not do both? One helps with the other, IMHO. I love piano too--especially because of the fact that for every guitar sheet music arrangement, there is a thousand piano pieces available. Great fun and very helpful for my reading chops. There's nothing I like better than to take an easy piano piece and try to sight-read it. My shelf is full of old piano sheet music that I got for very cheap at yard sales, eBay, etc. My 8-yr-old is starting too because of all the playing I've been doing. Guitar is my main thing but piano is in there too when I can find the time. For a jazz musician on any instrument, piano should be on the agenda.

User Info Menu