The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33

User Info Menu

I´ve been studying the upper structure triads, I searched for information in this forum and in the web, and information that my teacher gave me. So far, I studied the upper structures of the Maj7 chords and of the Altered chords. However, I think I'm not understanding how I can create new ideas in improvisation using this theory. The sounds that I get improving with the Maj7 chords upper structure triads don´t sound so great to my ear, and in the Altered chords, they seem too much "outside".Do you have some lines to illustrate how can I improve my improvisation using upper structure triads?

Sorry for my bad English, and for my ignorance in this subject.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You can call upper structure triads diatonic or non-diatonic. ex. Cmaj. ... play a Dmin triad to Fmaj Triad to Amin triad over the Cmaj. Their all diatonic triads.
    Now over that same Cmaj chord play... Dmaj. triad to Emaj. triad to F#maj. triad, non-diatonic triads starting on D and moving up by maj. 2nds.
    The triads you play over your base chord... are usually organized by some method... Dim. triads, or movement by min. 3rds. There are unlimited possibilities... Give me an example of what you would like to do and I'll give some examples... Best Reg

User Info Menu

When I first started learning jazz even major seventh chords sounded bad to me! Maybe you have to let your ear catch up with what you are playing.

Aside from that, if you play a phrase that remains in the upper structure it might sound like it's not connecting with the underlying harmony. Try starting and ending with simpler chord tones (say 3rd and 7th) to ground the phrase.

As for altered chords, be sure to resolve that line, too.

Thanks Reg i will see how that non-diatonic triads starting on D and moving up by maj. 2nds sounds like.