The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

Hello, first time poster here playing the guitar again for a year or so after a very long hiatus.

I've been using the Beginning Jazz Guitar book by Jody Fisher, in it he provides a bunch of scale fingerings and some melodic patterns to practice on them.

The fingerings make sense when you play the scales straight up or down, but when you play the melodic patterns, often at some point using different fingers for different notes is much more convenient.
    I was wondering whether as a beginner I should stick rigidly to the fingerings taught, or whether I should use them as a starting point only and use whatever fingering feels most comfortable for the melodic pattern concerned?

Thx for any input!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There are a lot of options for creating melody and ultimately, your goal is to make music. That being said, the guitar fingerboard is a very unnatural thing! As you're getting started, fingering guides are really helpful for pulling yourself out of the chaos. For each natural fingering favouring strong fingers or sensible movements, there are a lot more that will cause really awkward phrasing and, honestly, put notes out of convenient reach. So they are enormously useful.

I think fingering guides are really useful. I started with the Segovia scales, being classically trained from the old school and the intuitive combinations of shifts and strong musical fingerings took a while for me to acquire, but now they're in there on a level that's really unconscious and easy. The same with any well thought out set of fingering guides.