The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I did a comparison video of a dearmond 1100 reissue and the dearmond 1100 original pickup. First of all this was pain in the ass in youtube and I am a horrible editor so please be patient. The first video is the reissue dearmond that is on my Heritage Ghost built D'angelico New Yorker. This is a brand new pickup available now. The second is a video of my Barker guitar with an original dearmond 1100 and it has been on the guitar since 1979. I just played a basic tune and some single lines at the end to get and idea of difference in sound. Note the guitars do have different strings but essentially that should not matter given the pickup sound is what we are going for and hopefully this helps. To me there is a difference but nothing that I can tell and nothing good or bad about either one.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hard to compare being they are 2 different guitars and strings but i would say you can't go wrong with either pickup version.Thanks for the video's.

In the playback as I listening these pickups work differently the humbuckers. The Heritage D'a is a brighter sounding guitar acoustically and sounds very different than the Barker. The Barker is a bit warmer with more mid-range not the top end of the Heritage and not quite the bite. I think these pickups essentially amplified those characteristics pretty good and reliable. What is tells me more than anything else is that the reissues work fine and look just like the originals but save you plenty of cash. I don't mind paying for something premium if it truly is above and beyond the regular stuff, but I also find there are diminishing returns.

Premium things to spend money on......well for one good beer, never buy the cheap stuff usually not worth it.

User Info Menu