The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

Hi All,

I have an opportunity to acquire a vintage acoustic at what appears to be a good price.

Hofner President Acoustic Archtop (1959?).

I'm no expert so was hoping for advice.

A local guitar repair person cleaned it up.

It plays well.

The pick-guard has been replaced and the bone in the bridge is repaired/replaced.

There are some cracks in the white trim by the heel.

Some frets are going brown in places (rusty?)

No sign of headstock breakage or repair.

Do I take the plunge into vintage?

Cheers,
    M

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Well, as it's exactly the same age as me, I'm sure it has cracks and rust! But we're still standing, and I have no doubt it will outlive me.

So, take the plunge. You could always sell it later.

User Info Menu

If 1959 it won't have a truss rod. Apart from that if it plays well, then why not?

User Info Menu

Thanks guys.

I'm just worried that my lack of expertise may have missed something critical, and I don't have an archtop expert I can take with me to inspect it.

It has wound strings which I would like to swap out for flats. I'd also like to swap out the pick guard for one with a floating pickup. At the same time, I wouldn't want to do anything to upset the guitar so much that it becomes damaged. Maybe that is the risk with all old guitars?

User Info Menu

These are nice guitars. I have a couple of them knocking around the bunker somewhere.

They maintain their value so long as one does not drill too many extra holes in them or chop them up for pickups.
    I recommend keeping any old parts with the instrument (in the case pocket), since originality does affect value.
    There are lots of replacement parts that can be retrofitted to improve performance without the need to modify the guitar. Modifications affect value.