The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast
Posts 151 to 175 of 179

User Info Menu

I worked in a warehouse for a dealer with some 17 stores in the Northeast and played / tuned EVERY Martin that came through there years back when Martins were mostly Brazilian rosewood. After every shipment arrived I picked the one I liked best and put it aside for myself to ultimately buy.

All were dreadnaughts (D18 to D45) and it's AMAZING how many guitars changed the reserved spot after comparing them side by side.

I wound up with the loudest, sweetest Martin D35, only a bit better than a D18 that held the reserved place for a few months. So much for the Martin mystique, it doesn't exist to me.

That said...

I don't know of a better way to compare gits than IN HAND. Memory fades, amps change, room acoustics are different, even strings, picks AND the weather can and will change the tryout. Memories suck as a reference.

Failing an in hand or a side by side comparison, to me a 175 is a risky buy, but IMO, nothing I own or have played is like a good 175.

I currently have more than a few archtops (among them some pretty respectable gits) and they are all unique enough to stand alone and even side by side with my 175 but are not equal to it.

So convinced of this I am that I pooh pooh any one saying they found one. A 335? sure, 330? OK, 125? yup, but not a good 175.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I don't remember if I posted on this thread and I'm sure not looking through 4 pages of posts to confirm that.