The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 37

User Info Menu

I recently purchased a Gibson L-5 CES and I strung her with thomastik Infeld swing flatwound 013-053: great strings for this guitar.
    (I didn't like those strings on my previous guitar, a gibson 175)
    TI swing flatwound are very long lasting and I'm ok with them even if I pay 14,00 eur each set.
    I'm wondering if somebody has compared the swing 013 with the thomastick george benson 013 which cost 24 eur each set.
    I'm not a pro but I'm curious to give them a try...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by gianluca
    I recently purchased a Gibson L-5 CES and I strung her with thomastik Infeld swing flatwound 013-053: great strings for this guitar.
    TI swing flatwound are very long lasting and I'm ok with them even if I pay 14,00 eur each set.
    I'm wondering if somebody has compared the swing 013 with the thomastick george benson 013 which cost 24 eur each set.
    Vast difference in my opinion.
    Swings are a match made in heaven for an L5 and after trying many different brands I have personally stopped searching.

The differences between Swing and Benson:
    Bensons go dull very quickly. Personal taste will determine if that troubles you or not.
    Swing are very bright at first and then mellow a little but never go "thud" like the Benson's eventually will. They stay a little lively.
    Benson's are silky smooth.
    Swing's are ever so slightly rougher...but still very flat wound.
    You can just see the wind on the Swing's whereas you can barely see it on Benson's.

The big difference and game changer for me was the way my L5 responded to the Swing's.
    My guitars sounds 2" deeper. I can now hear a lot more body tone when I play chords and single note playing is alive with a more acoustic sound.

Sounds crazy?