The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 38

User Info Menu

Hello fellow guitarists,

I have some experience playing acoustic guitar (although not much of a formal training) but I've never tried electric before. I have just picked up a Epiphone version of ES-335. I am finding that when I put it on my right leg it doesn't feel balanced and the body of the guitar tends to roll over the leg lifting the fingerboard in the process. How am I supposed to keep the guitar balanced on my leg? What's the right position?

Thanks.
    Last edited by mbmsv; 11-16-2023 at 12:32 PM. Reason: Misspelled brand name

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think this is a matter of switching from an acoustic to a thinline. Just play around and you’ll get used to balancing it.

User Info Menu

Get use to using a strap. Even with your acoustic.
    Or as Allan said... you'll get use to it.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mbmsv
    What's the right position?
    The right position is the one that works for you, = let's you play in comfort and with confidence.

Personally I hate playing with a strap while seated, because I already have enough tendency to slouch over my guitar and putting weight on my shoulders creates tension there which then spreads to my neck and down to my hands (esp. the left). Not good, but maybe you're different.

This thread may give you some ideas: Dynarette Cushion guitar support ... experiences? . If the problem lies more in the lack of depth you could consider adding a piece of foam behind the guitar. That sounds like something somebody must already have invented, in fact!?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by RJVB
    If the problem lies more in the lack of depth you could consider adding a piece of foam behind the guitar.