The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 27

User Info Menu

Every couple of years, I will invent a system for deriving harmonic or melodic content, and then relearn an aspect of music-making on the guitar. I’ve been doing this for about 35 years. I have found that I learn best by working things out.

The first time I ever did this, was when I was an undergrad music student (many decades ago). I’ve never explained it online, so I thought I might take a stab at it here, since y’all are a thoughtful bunch.

Halfway through that degree, I began to feel very unsatisfied with my harmonic vocabulary. For example, I was painfully aware that I had only a few ways to play each type of chord: usually only a 5th-string root and a 6th-string root. And when I wrote tunes, they looked like real book tunes, always using the same 5 or 6 chord qualities. It felt like piss-poor way to go about composing. I wanted to get richer, go deeper, and in different ways.

I had been listening to Ravel and Stravinsky. The vocabulary seemed so rich. And I had been noticing that my favorite guitarists had a lot of facility with chord voicings and were using voice leading.

I felt that it was a problem that I had let theory explain music, for me. I had begun thinking that a chord was only a “chord” if it had function or a name, or if it could be used in a jazz standard or rock tune. I wanted to get away from this. But at the same time, I wanted to play jazz better and get more going on, in my vocabulary and with fluidity on the instrument.

I also began to feel that if I could make up a system to derive voicings from, it could be a way for me to visualize the guitar neck up and down the length of the neck, rather than across six strings in one position.

I took inspiration from the concept of wabi sabi and “less is more”. I wanted to see if I could achieve expanse through limitation.