The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 74

User Info Menu

be ecuse my ignorance on this i hope its not to basic.
    sometimes i get hung up n small issue like this.
    high all i am new to learning to read music and trying to understand things as i am going along.
    one thing i wanted to ask is ( as example ) is Amin the same as Am?
    if so why would it be labeled a Amin on one bar and Am on the next?

also when a chord is labled ( as example ) Amaj that is a chord that i would think would be made up of a 1, 3, 5 would that be correct? basic i know i want to make sure i have this all correct. spent to many years learning wrong.
    so if i add a extention say a seven the it would be Amaj7
    if i add a six would it be Amaj6 or just A6? this is causing me a small degree of confusion not is learn playing or reading just in proper naming. i see as example A6 written in one of my studies and the i see Amaj7 or Amaj9 so why would the A6 not be labled Amaj6?
    thank pan

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by pan60 View Post
    high all i am new to learning to read music and trying to understand things as i am going along.

also when a chord is labled ( as example ) Amaj that is a chord that i would think would be made up of a 1, 3, 5 would that be correct? basic i know i want to make sure i have this all correct. spent to many years learning wrong.
    if i add a six would it be Amaj6 or just A6? this is causing me a small degree of confusion not is learn playing or reading just in proper naming. i see as example A6 written in one of my studies and the i see Amaj7 or Amaj9 so why would the A6 not be labled Amaj6?
    thank pan
    You have it right. People are just inconsistent when they write stuff.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by pan60 View Post

thank pan