The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 105

User Info Menu

I'm new to jazz chords & I'm only studying shell voicings at the moment. I've come across something that's confusing me & I'm hoping someone can help clear this up for me. Keep in mind that as I'm learning these shapes, I'm also trying to learn what each note is inside the shape. It helps me understand why the chord is named what it is.
    Here is the chord in question...x312xx...When I see that, I see a "C" as the root, an "Eb" as a flat 3rd, and an "A" as a 6. To me, that is a Cm6.
    The problem is, I have come across others saying this is a diminished shape. From what little I know, this looks like a m6 shape to me.
    What am I not seeing?
    Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The short answer is that both interpretations can be correct. Read on for details.

Chord symbols are just shorthand or nicknames for common chord constructions.

A C minor triad is C Eb G. The intervals from the root are a minor third and a perfect fifth
    A C minor sixth is C Eb G A. It's a C minor triad with a major sixth. The intervals from the root are minor third, perfect fifth and major sixth.
    An Ab major chord in first inversion is C Eb Ab. The intervals from the bottom note (not the root, since this is an inversion) are minor 3rd and minor 6th. If we have C Eb G Ab, we have a first-inversion Abma7, which you might see notated as Ama7/C.

So... in order for the add-a-sixth-to-the-chord shorthand to be consistent, the convention is that when adding a sixth to a minor triad the sixth is major, because if it were a minor sixth you'd have a first-inversion major chord. (And when adding a sixth to a major triad, that's also a major sixth*. Thus C6 is C E G A which is the same as Am7/C.)