The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

So I'm fairly new to Jazz guitar and and the genre in general. I have a decent understanding of theory but some of the more complex chord progressions I've encountered leave me slightly bewildered. An example being:

D#7(#9#5)
    Emaj9
    Gmaj9
    Cmaj9(#11)

This is one of the progressions in the song Velours by Anomalie.

When listening to this modern jazzy/low-fi stuff I'm always wondering how the composers choose the chords they do in order to construct their progressions. For example, the Emaj9 and Gmaj9 here have no obvious theoretical relationship, but it sounds good nonetheless. Are the composers literally just thinking "it sounds good so I'm going to do it", or is there concept being utilised that I'm unaware of?

Many thanks!

J

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jpmusic8
    For example, the Emaj9 and Gmaj9 here have no obvious theoretical relationship, but it sounds good nonetheless.
    J

The same chord type moving up or down in thirds (major or minor) is called a chromatic mediant relationship. It works due to the chromatic voice leading between the two chords.

User Info Menu

There’s always a theoretical relationship, but that also doesn’t mean they’re not just doing it because it sounds good.

A lot of the time the theoretical relationships are applied to things later. That way, the composer can say “what was that thing that sounded good? Oh it was that chromatic mediant thing.” And then they can pull it out in a different context and tweak it and see if it still works.

So the theory is super useful for us, but also not always applicable for the person doing the composing.

I find when I write, I’m usually just doing it because it sounds good. The theory I can slap on it after the fact helps when I want to arrange it or improvise over it or whatever comes later.

User Info Menu