The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 32
    Hi,

I am an beginner-intermediate level guitarist and of course I love Jazz, especially bebop! But if I'm completely honest with myself as much as I love bebop and learning that language, what I really want to play is modern Robert Glasper-esque J Dilla inspired Jazz-Hip Hop fusion, like the following;

(slightly different from the rest but for me the mood is similar)

Now I'm by no means a master of bebop language. In fact I'm still just getting to grips with it. In terms of knowing the theoretical aspects of the language (enclosures, use of triads, swung 8th notes) I understand it. Being that intellectually grasping it isn't so difficult. But I haven't grasped it yet in my ear. Partly because of time spent on the instrument and also partly because whilst I listen to Bebop, I listen to music such as the above much more.

I also realise that a lot of the cliche's used in Jazz Standards aren't really a thing anymore. Most forms of modern Jazz I listen to has largely moved away from ii-V's, functional harmony, swung 8th notes and the bebop cliche's used in earlier music. ALTHOUGH I do realise there is always a heavy bebop element underpinning a lot of it.

So my question is this. Is it best for me to continue transcribing and learning bebop language and then eventually switch to transcribing the more modern sounding music I'm listening to, or is it okay for me to jump straight into the modern sound? Ideally I would like to do both as I don't see it necessarily as an either/or thing, but I am an amateur doing this for my own enjoyment and my time is limited (I begin working as a Doctor in August and am not likely to have much free time to practise).

Any advice given would be most appreciated! And sorry if this is a stupid question, I meant it in earnest though.