The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26
    Hi, I am studying jazz and right now Im into the Jody Fisher Chord Melody book and he says that the diminished chord can be used as a passing chord upwards for example:

C-C#diminished- D minor 7

But my question is that if it can be used downwards, he doesn't mention this in his book, for example:

Aminor7-Ab diminished- Gmajor 7

Can it be used this way and why or it is only used upwards?. Thanks!
    Last edited by Manuel Crespo; 02-26-2016 at 06:42 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's most commonly found as a connection between the iii and ii chords, as in Out of Nowhere:

B-7 Bbo7 | A-7 D7 | GΔ7 |

User Info Menu

Barry Harris says:

The Flat Three Diminished goes to the Two or to the Three.

Try:

I bIIIo IIm7 V7

Similar to the Out Of Nowhere example above.

User Info Menu

If it sounds good; it is good.

User Info Menu

for your example Aminor7 - Ab dim - Gmajor7
    doesn't the Ab diminished essentially play the role of a tritone substitution?

I say it works OK.
    I'm sure I'll get schooled if that's wrong

User Info Menu

In Alan Kimgstone's book (he posted above) on Barry Harris, his chapter on movement (Chapt 2) lays out the uses of all the dim chords. The bIIo wants to resolve to the IIm7 thus that is why you usually don't see the bIIo being used often in a tansition like ii-bIIo-I.

Play:

Imaj7-bIIo-IIm7

then

IIm7-bIIo-Imaj7

same chord (bIIo) but now functioning in two different ways and sounding different.

Can it be used, sure, but it's not the best use of the chord.

User Info Menu

The answer to this question depends on context:

If you like Dbo7 --> C and you are writing a tune, say, use it. Or if you like the sound, write a tune with it in.