The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 58 of 58
    Quote Originally Posted by wolflen

lets meld the diminished tonics (C Eb Gb A) in some augmented chords (C E Ab)

using the ii7 V7 chords of each dim tonic to resolve into the augmented tonic chords

Fm7 Bb7 C minor 3rd sub
    Dmi7 G7 C diatonic
    Bmi7 E7 C major sixth sub
    Abmi7 Db7 C the ol tri-tone trick

do the same for E augmented and then Ab aug

Ami7 D7 E etc

note the ii7 V7 are a minor 3rd apart(dim cycle)

now add extensions to all chords Mi9/11 dom 9/13 Ma9 6/9 13 etc ..use inversions and wide voicings

then mix and match some of the progressions..review Coltrane changes for insight...there will be a lot of "(ah Haa) moments...have fun
    Glad some of you are still around. I've been playing guitar for over 25 years, professionally for well over a decade (though not an authority on jazz), so I'm far from a beginner and well-versed in reading, theory, all the fundamentals. This challenges me so I can't seem to give up. I have so many questions both from this thread and the Javier Arau paper that I don't know where to begin and have considered reaching out for private lessons in AST just to get past whatever seems to be between me and making sense of all this.

This quoted post is my first source of confusion. I think I understand the 4-tonic system and from the past couple months have made sense of the 3-tonic qualities of the augmented scale. I've been through the Chris Parrello writings and that is all completely clear.

The confusion seems to begin when it gets to the post above (same as in the Arau paper) about melding 4-tonic with 3-tonic systems. I've studied the charts and see the connections (shared harmonies, upper extensions, relative minor/majors) so it seems like everything should make sense to me and I'm not sure why it's still baffling me.