The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24
    I'm fairly new to theory so don't go too deep on me here.
    I get that 5ths are notes/chords that have a strong pull to return to the tonic. But, lets use C as the example. G is the 5th, and D would be the V/V. What's the point in calling it the V/V instead of the 2nd? When is it the ii chord and when is it the V/V? Is it to illustrate that the D has a pull or wants to resolve into the G? Just curious.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Well for one it needs a unique name to distinguish it from the diatonic Dm or Dm7 (the Dm chord includes the F note from the C key signature) and the non-diationic D7 (the D7 chord includes the F# note outside of the C key signature).

Secondly, it is an attempt to describe the aural function of the chord, the D7 sounds like it's funtioning like a V chord with it's pull to the G7 chord.

A V chord has two notes, the 7th and the 3rd, that have a pull to resolve to chord tones of the next chord. In the D7 case, the 7th is the C note which wants to resolve a half step to the B note of the G7 chord and the 3rd is an F# which wants to resolve a half step to the G note of the G7 chord.

Bottom line, they're just labels to help one categorize sounds which can help the 'ear' understand and identify things.
    Last edited by fep; 09-05-2014 at 05:17 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by airborne82p
    What's the point in calling it the V/V instead of the 2nd?
    Jazzers *would* just call that chord a II7 chord, because it's very common and basic for jazz.

When is it the ii chord and when is it the V/V? Is it to illustrate that the D has a pull or wants to resolve into the G?
    Yeah, it's basically recognizing that in traditional Western music, the V7 as formed from the major scale, is dominant. So, when you have a dominant chord resolving down a 5th it's "functioniong" as a V.