The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

I've been working on these for about ten years, so y'all I hope you can use them.

SimpleAltered.xlsx charts the basic altered scales (Major, Dominant Major, Sub-Dominant Major, Relative Jazz minor, Jazz Minor, Relative Harmonic Minor and Harmonic Major) in all keys. This file should print out on letter size paper.

SecondOrderAltered.xlsx charts altered scales which are alterations of the 7 basic altered scales listed above. also in all keys. This file requires legal size or larger paper.

I posted these charts in .PDF format later in this thread. I should print out a lot better than in Excel format...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Richard-H; 09-14-2014 at 12:18 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

"Dominant Major, Sub-Dominant Major, Relative Jazz minor,...Relative Harmonic Minor ..." - these are all new terms to me.
    What are their conventional names? In what way are they "altered", and from what? (I only know one "altered scale", by that specific name).

And you have alterations of the alterations too??

O.K., Let me explain.....

These are the conventional names according to classical music theory (except for the Jazz Minor which is called the melodic minor in classical theory)

There are 7 tertiary chords built off the notes of a major scale and 7 corresponding modes, these are: I maj7 (ionian), ii min7 (dorian), iii min7 (phrygian), IV maj7 (lydian), V dom7 (mixolydian), vi min7 (aeolian), vii min7b5 (locrian).

Now, since the invention of tempered tuning (which is the basis of the major scale):

Subtle modulation or key secondary areas can be created by altering one note of any of the chords:

Maj7 chords can become Dom 7, Min 7 chords can become Dom 7, and min7b5 becomes dim7. The corresponding modes can also be altered:

I Maj7--->I Dom7 Ionian--->Mixolydian Major Key--->Sub-Dominant Key