The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 66

User Info Menu

Say you have an A minor chord as the ii. Generally speaking, and I understand context changes things, what scale would be played over it? Modal? Straight minor scale?

Remember you are talking to a beginner here.

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Scales go over a certain chord if the scale contains the notes within the chord. It's as simple as that.

A minor seventh chord contains a root, minor third, perfect fifth, and minor seventh. So to find an appropriate scale just add some kind of second (9th), some kind of fourth (11th), and some kind of sixth (13th).

Adding the major 2nd/9th, perfect 4th/11th, and major 6th/13th gives you Dorian.
    Adding the major 2nd/9th, perfect 4th/11th, and MINOR 6th/13th gives you Aeolian/natural minor.
    Adding the MINOR 2nd/9th, perfect 4th/11th, and MINOR 6th/13th gives you Phrygian.

If someone doesn't know the interval structure of the modes then they haven't really learned them yet.

Those are the minor 7th chord scales derived from the diatonic major scale, although there are others from melodic minor, harmonic minor, and harmonic major.

As you mentioned context, well if Amin7 is the ii chord in the key, then the natural scale choice would be the mode built from the same degree. Dorian is the second mode of the major scale, so any ii chord will fit dorian...in this case A dorian (second mode of G major).... "ii chord" and "dorian" are basically synonyms.

Before anyone else mentions it, I'll also say you actually don't need to worry about modes to play over tonal chord changes
    Last edited by RyanM; 05-14-2013 at 10:10 PM.

User Info Menu

If it's functioning as a ii, in a major cadence, Dorian's the inside choice...although I'm not a scale guy in that situation.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by barrymclark