The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 32

User Info Menu

I'm fairly new to jazz theory here as I suspect this question will reveal, but I'm trying to wrap my head around some concepts here. Are there certain scales/modes that go with certain chord progressions? For instance, ii, V, I : is there, are there certain scales/modes that work well with this progression?

Now maybe I'm way off base with my thinking here, I suspect so, but if not then the next question would be how do you know which goes with which? Are there like charts or diagrams?

Thanks,
    Ken

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

In the key of C...

for the I..play from C to C...

for the ii...play from D to D...

for the V..play from G to G...

thats starting at the roots and playing to the octave...

the C triad contains the notes C..E..G....you can play from c to c...e to e...g to g.

the Dm triad contains the notes.D..F..A...you can play from d to d...f to f..a to a..

the G triad contains the notes g..b..d...g to g..b to b..d to d..

adding the 7th to the Dm gives you...d..f..a..c..

adding the 7th to the G gives you...g..b..d..f..

play as noted above..

this beginner lesson should get you going..

check out some lessons on this site...

go to jamie abersolds site and get your free copy of "jazz aids"...a great little book...

time on the instrument..

Quote Originally Posted by pierre richard
    In the key of C...

for the I..play from C to C...

for the ii...play from D to D...

for the V..play from G to G...

thats starting at the roots and playing to the octave...

the C triad contains the notes C..E..G....you can play from c to c...e to e...g to g.

the Dm triad contains the notes.D..F..A...you can play from d to d...f to f..a to a..

the G triad contains the notes g..b..d...g to g..b to b..d to d..

adding the 7th to the Dm gives you...d..f..a..c..

adding the 7th to the G gives you...g..b..d..f..