The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

Hi, first thread on the forum.

I have jumped into a Real Book workshop. My first session was last week. The workshop is for all levels. Now keep in mind that I have been playing for 35 years but have never played in a jazz setting.

The workshop works like this. Somebody calls of a page number, we all turn to the song, it's counted off and away we go. We play once through the song with horns playing the melody, then each person takes a solo over the changes. Ending with all playing melody and out......... On to the next.

I was pleased at being able to comp and keep up with the changes, in real time. However, I passed at the solos. I am just not there yet "on the fly" so to speak. It usualy takes me about half an hour to roadmap a song. By roadmap I mean, find the key changes.

I obviously can't take a half an hour to do this. They would be 3 songs ahead of me. It seems like once I find the key changes or tonal center changes, I can at least make it through the songs using my ear and creativity.

Any advise on how to map these quickly or do I just resign myself to the fact that I have jumped in over my head?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi Tim
    Think arpeggios when soloing over unfamiliiar changes. Even if you're not sure of the key the arpeggio will have all the right notes for that chord.

Also try to scan the page before playing it and identify any II-V's. If you can recognize the II-V progressions it will give you a good idea of what key center you're in.

User Info Menu

Thanks Mike,

With these unfamiliar songs, the arpeggios are a great idea. I just have a hard time keeping up. I have tried scanning for the II-V and looking for the I chord. Just seems to be so much easier for me "on the fly" to group a block of changes in keys rather than arpeggios and CST.