The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26
    hi everyone -I am having a problem(minor) figuering out how to find the relative minor of any key. the book i am studying tells me that the fifth of any key is the relativer minor ie if the key were in Db the relative minor would be the fifth of that chord or Ab. etc. When i checked the circle of fifths i am told that the relative minor is Bb. who is right and is there a formula i can use that fits all keys?? i may not reading this all right so i need some guidance.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Relative minor is built on the 6th degree of the major scale from which it is derived. C major - A minor.

mr cosmic gumbo -thank you for your help. I want to tell you what my book says. " now that you know that if you have a dominant 7th chord you can substitute it,s relative minor which is the fifth of the chord". does that make sense??

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by richard vandyne
    mr cosmic gumbo -thank you for your help. I want to tell you what my book says. " now that you know that if you have a dominant 7th chord you can substitute it,s relative minor which is the fifth of the chord". does that make sense??
    You started by talking about relative minor with respect to key. Cosmic gave you the correct answer to that question.

Now you're providing a statement about chord substitution, wherein this author advises that you can substitute Dm7, for example, in place of G7 (i.e., a minor 7th chord built of the 5th of the dominant 7).

So far, so good?

hi- thanks for the clarification. i haven,t been too clear because i am not sure about what i am reading. so- to clear up matters a bit- to get a relative minor for a key you would use the 6th note of the key signature as the relative minor and when substituting for a chord you would use the 5th of the chord only it would be in a minor mode. Is that all correct????