The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 42

User Info Menu

I am a newbie and have been practicing various chord progressions from my instructional book. Well, I decided to start working on Melodic Minor and Harmonic Minor 2-5-1 up and down the neck.

I have got to tell you, the Min (Major) chord is disturbing to me. It reminds me of a scene in a slasher movie!

Can some of you experienced players share some thoughts on the Min(Major) chord and possible suggest some Jazz songs that utilize it? I am a bit put off by it right now.

Call me sensitive, but I don't listen to Jazz music to be affected this way, at least I don't think I have noticed this chord or chord progression to be prominent in any of the songs I really like. If it is in there, then it is blended in very well.
    Last edited by AlsoRan; 11-24-2011 at 08:11 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

the last chord on Invitation is a EbminMaj7, check it out.

User Info Menu

Thanks nion.

I just listened to Joe Henderson's version (at least a sample of it). I guess I have been hearing it all along in the bittersweet jazz songs that I have come across (but really don't play a lot, I skip to the next more upbeat song being more of a hard bop type of guy).

By the way, I am holding you responsible for all the money I will be spending on Joe Henderson CDs. I loved his playing in the samples I heard! Just loved it!

User Info Menu

Harlem Nocturne
    Nica's Dream

User Info Menu

I ran across this while researching the chord on Wikipedia:

"The minor major seventh chord is most often used in jazz, typically functioning as a minor tonic. Jazz musicians usually improvise with the melodic minor scale over this chord; the harmonic minor scale is also used. Additionally, Bernard Herrmann's use of this chord - most notoriously in his score for Psycho - has earned it the nickname, "The Hitchcock Chord".[