The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 44 of 44

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by AlsoRan
    What is the "TT," my man?
    Tritone. I also think of the scale like this, at least in a jazz context (where I am a beginner, of course). It can be used in itself for some cool stuff. Most famous example is probably the bridge section of Kashmir by Led Zep. John Paul Jones improvises some lovely lines using this scale there.

Edit: scale, not chord.
    Last edited by wich; 09-27-2011 at 06:28 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think we're all saying the same thing: Natural minor didn't have great resolution, so people superimposed a leading tone, replacing the minor seventh. Now it had a great resolution, but crappy linear abilities (to their sensibilities). So, raise the sixth, and eliminate the augmented second. Wait, now it almost sounds like a major scale! Damn! Ok, so we'll only do the rasied-tone-thingy when it's necessary, mmkay. ...OK. Then jazz guys we're like, "hey this is cool, let's just play it in the altered form all the time!!!!"

Sorry about the mode of a mode thing, I should have said "Natural Minor" instead of "Aeolian." The mode based on the fourth degree of Natural Minor is the same mode as that built on the second degree of Major, or Dorian. Daz wut i wuz gettin' at, y'all; i'z juz' not that artickle-ate sum times.

User Info Menu

So how do we all feel about Dom b6?

User Info Menu

Once you get through all the personal history lessons... you'll get to the part where you actually play... and one of the major characteristics of playing Jazz is pulling from and using MM. If you try and use traditional harmony for your basis of using... your missing a lot. And your playing will reflect just that.... your going to sound like a traditionally trained musician trying to cover Jazz... I bet I have your attention now... It's not that complicated...