The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

Hi, I'm studying theory but also am always working on tunes, so I do a lot of research trying to find the right voicings for the music. That takes me well ahead of my current knowledge...

Anyway, why does music specify 13th notation instead of 6th? Is it because that amount of distance between the notes is wanted, or the 13th is wanted on top (if so what about inversions), or because it also implies dom 7th is included...just wondering.

Sometimes I see a voicing with the key note way up where I can't hardly reach it, when I could do it an octave down, like I saw that with a Cmaj9 with the 9th way up on the 1st string.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Anyway, why does music specify 13th notation instead of 6th? Is it because
    that amount of distance between the notes is wanted, or the 13th is wanted on
    top (if so what about inversions), or because it also implies dom 7th is
    included...just wondering.
    a full on 13 chord is a Dominant type chord
    and has 1 3 5 b7 9 11 and the 13th in it
    not enough strings eh ?
    luckily we can leave out lots of these notes and still create a good effect
    it depends on the context of the tune and youre taste as to what you leave out

User Info Menu

Yes, the chord symbol G13 is a dominant 7th chord quality...

G B D F A E (normally the 11th is omitted and often the ninth is ommited also to make it G B D F E, and often the 5th is ommited as in G B F A E)

A 6th chord is a major chord with a 6th added, G6 = G B D E

Do the Amazon 'Look Inside' feature of this book, it has a good three page explanation of chord spellings:

Amazon.com: Joe Pass Guitar Style (9780739018651): Joe Pass: Books

Quote Originally Posted by fep
    Yes, the chord symbol G13 is a dominant 7th chord quality...