The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Posts 176 to 180 of 180

User Info Menu

Lasgne:

I started playing jazz ( or maybe better said, trying to play jazz guitar) a few years ago after playing bass for 30 years...well bass is all roots, passing tones and arps..not really modes...totally different than guitar.

So I got some books and they all started with "this mode over that chord"..derivative approach vs parallel apprach and on and on...well, it got me nowhere to be honest...too much thinking going on..

I found that learning the five scale shapes for a major scale (from Jimmy Bruno's site) and tonal center approach much more accessable and easier...there are plenty of posts for each on this forum...and got further in my playing in 3 months than a year and a bunch of books of "this mode over that chord"...

Join Jimmy's site for $20 month, with a little practice you can probably play over some easy jazz standards in a few months..it took me 3 weeks to learn all my major. minor and dominant scales..his teaching method really works..

BTW, I am not affiliated at all with Jimmy or his site....and you have to find your own path as we all do...but maybe it will help..

Enjoy the journey!!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Reg
    Here's a copy of another post, where I tried to explain Modal Basics.
    I'm not sure we all understand model concepts... lets talk basics... Key of "C", I'll start with 2nd degree or "D", since I think that's where this thread started.