The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

Hey all,

I've been working on learning Miss Jones for a couple of months now, but that pesky middle section is still causing me trouble. I can play the melody, I can play the chords, my improvisation just isn't very reliable over the middle section. I'm feeling a little stuck.

Any advice is much appreciated!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

One thing you can do as an exercise, this may help your ear, or at least maybe teach you to have some fun with navigation.

Make an exercise around the II chord and the I chord. You can make melodies that create an idea in the II and flow down two frets to where the I chord. Right? This can give you a melodic workout on this alone.

Then after the I, drop down two frets, make that a II and do it again.

That's like doing an A minor, G major, F minor, Eb major, Db minor, ...

After that, the II can be part of a II V group for some added interest.

This is not all of what's happening in the bridge but getting this exercise in your ear can help you anticipate what's coming up. Don't forget that you can move your roots to a different string anytime you want to.

Does this make any sense? This will help you get the sound of this progression in your ear. Work on interesting ideas and take your time.

Hope you find this amusing
    David

User Info Menu

Im interested in this too
    Any good simplifications on the bridge of HYMMJ

Key centers ...
    Bb
    Gb
    D
    Gb innit ?

How do you guys simplify that ....or don't you

User Info Menu

I've played this song for quite a few years and always have to remind myself of the pattern of the bridge before playing it.

I don't have any trouble remembering the 2/5/1 into the Bb; that part just seems to come naturally to my hands.