The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Hi All

I am a newbie to Jazz Guitar and I have something that I want to run by you guys.

I've been learning Autumn Leaves in the key of GMajor/Em (Am7 - D7 - GMaj7 - CMaj7 - F#m7b5 - E7b9 - Em7)

I've been watching some very inspiring videos on this site and other of people playing the song.

My question: When improvising over the Chords, do I need to stay in the key of E Minor?

What are the recommended ways for a newbie to approach improvising over this tune?

Also (I'm struggling to verbalize this) - I've seen videos where the player plays 4 notes and then 2 chords:
    note-note-note-note - Am7 - D7
    note-note-note-note - GMaj7 - CMaj7 etc etc - Is there a term for this style of playing? Are those notes all in G Major?

Any help will be great, thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Second to last chord should be a B7b9.

Jazz improv involves addressing the chords...so staying with one scale might sound pretty weak, and not jazzy.

My suggestion would be to look at arpeggios for these chords, target the thirds and sevenths, and if your brain likes scales, try an E harmonic minor for the F#m7b5 to B7b9 to Eminor part...

User Info Menu

I wouldn't stay completely in the diatonic scale, but use it as a guide. Find and use the color tones (flat 5, flat 9, sharp 5, sharp 9) where appropriate. Also use the chords as a guide and learn all positions and inversions. Work on playing the scale and arps in each of those chord positions. Finding all positions of F#m7b5 is the biggest challenge to me.

Next, play the song using all that you've learned ^ over and over. Chord melodies (voice leading), arps, scale fragments and octaves (Wes style). I like a little space when improvising to make phrasing more interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    Second to last chord should be a B7b9.