The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm pretty new to audio interface and digital music and I need some help.
    My aim is to get some nice guitar tones (mainly clean, but some overdriven as well) for both home practice and live gigs.
    I learned that an audio interface (Focusrite Scarlet Solo for example) is what you need to input the guitar in a Pc or iPad or iPhone;
    software like Garageband provide amp simulators and stompbox pedal effects simulators;
    So I'm wondering if I could play live with this setting: El. guitar -----> Audio interface ----> iphone ---> GarageBand (amp simulator & stomboxes) ----> PA audio or guitar amp line in.
    Is there any cons?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Just the general precarious nature of the iPhone would be enough to make me nervous.

I am more and more appreciating the beauty of the simplest of set-ups

El. guitar……> cord……> tube amp

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by alltunes
    Just the general precarious nature of the iPhone would be enough to make me nervous.

I am more and more appreciating the beauty of the simplest of set-ups

El. guitar……> cord……> tube amp
    I’m glad for you, like I’m happy for everyone who is able to master his tone directly in a tube amp whatever kind of venue, gig, reharsal session or home practice session.

Unfortunately I lay on the other side, among the few who has to spend time and time to set up his tone everytime the room, or the drummer, or the wheater, changes.

And, yes, a pocket rig which might help me to get my tone everywhere, like a keyboard player, would be very appreciated.

sorry for my poor english…

User Info Menu