The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

Anyone been in NYC this week to see Julian at the Village?! Billy Hart is on drums!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by marcwhy
    Anyone been in NYC this week to see Julian at the Village?! Billy Hart is on drums!
    Wow, 83 and still pounding the skins. Impressive.

User Info Menu

Not with Julian Lage, but I saw Billy Hart with Yotam Silberstein at Mezzrow about a year ago and it was incredible. He's absolutely still got it.

User Info Menu

I saw Billy Hart quartet a few times and it was awesome.

User Info Menu

Yes, I made the trip to NYC specifically for the show! Was able to see the first two shows (back to back on Tuesday). Showed up 90min early and got to be front row (had to restrain myself from trying to touch Julian's Nacho tele hoping the magic would rub off on me). Julian was outstanding as always! I'm relatively new to jazz so hadn't heard of the drummer but was impressed having reviewed his bio and by his playing. So great to see the younger and older generations intertwined. The sets had a few more standards than Julian typically plays, but I only think they repeated one song between the two sets. Highlight for me was during the first set when they played one of Julian's songs, Day and Age, but Billy sped up the drums a bit in the middle leading into a fiery jam. Although I prefer the trio shows, looking forward to catching a couple of Julian's solo shows this fall. I sure wish they recorded these shows!

Julian Lage - Village Vanguard!-img_2011-jpgJulian Lage - Village Vanguard!-img_2024-jpgJulian Lage - Village Vanguard!-img_2030-jpgJulian Lage - Village Vanguard!-img_2032-jpg

User Info Menu

What an iconic venue!

User Info Menu

Jackpot!

User Info Menu

Hey... don't forget Jorge! Great bass player. I really dig Julian, and I'd love to hear what these guys do with the standards.

User Info Menu