The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Posts 126 to 141 of 141

User Info Menu

I actually really liked the 80's while living them. My dad was hip, he listened to more "college rock," as they called it, REM, Replacements, Let's Active, etc.

Of course I didn't know this. I assumed everybody drove around and listened to Siouxsie and the Cure on homemade mixtapes.

Interestingly enough, I kinda rebelled against this stuff when I started playing guitar, because at that time, my early guitar heroes were all into the 70's stuff...big loud distorted guitars.

But now I can even hear pop like the Human League or Flock of Seagulls and I get very nostalgic. A lot of 80's music was really intelligent.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think the biggest issue with the way this method is sold/marketed/price etc is really just the combination of everything, meaning if only some issues existed (like the high price) that would be fine. But to me it's like if you pretend this method is like a nice but expensive guitar:

Picture a guitar that's supposed to be the nicest guitar money can by, and it's like $8,000 (I know that a lot of archtops are very expensive, but go with me here and my more solid body thinking). Now I would think to myself, I don't care how nice it is, when there's guitars 95% as nice that are $2-4k I can't justify this even if it's the nicest guitar I would ever play.

UNLESS I get to try it, and if it honestly is the greatest thing ever and nothing compares, then maybe I can justify the price knowing it's a lifer for me.

But I feel like with the Method, it's expensive and there's no way to try it first...the Experience/videos are not good enough, especially as mentioned often the videos are like an hour+ long and filled with rambling, where a nice 10 minute video highlighting the key points with maybe visuals would be invaluable.