The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Wow, time has passed.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I started playing guitar around 71'. He Haw and Soul Train were something to look forward to and I'd play along as best I could to the music.

Gloom, despair, and agony on me,
    Deep dark depression, excessive misery
    If it weren't for bad luck I'd have no luck at all....

I didn't even have to look that up.
    He Haaaaaw!!
    What was the other one about gossip?

Quote Originally Posted by Stevebol
    I didn't even have to look that up.
    He Haaaaaw!!

What was the other one about gossip?

Mel Tillis - Video Dailymotion

User Info Menu

Wow. Here is a guy I grew up around. As a kid, I lived in Southeast DC when Roy Clark was the king of the Washington DC guitar scene. He had been Jimmy Dean's sidekick on the locally originated "Jimmy Dean Show." (until Dean fired Clark for being perpetually late) Clark was the hot hand in DC in a guitar scene that included guys like Charlie Byrd, Roy Buchanan, and Danny Gatton.

I grew up watching Clark. I kept up with him when he moved to "Swingin' Country" on TV with Molly Bee (who had been a frequent associate of Jimmy Dean's and was a regular on Ernie Ford's show). Then came "Hee-Haw," which featured Buck Owens. I had moved from DC to Southern California as a kid and switched from watching Jimmy Dean, Clark, and the Muppets (they started on Dean's show), to watching Buck Owens and the West Coast gang on TV. "Hee-Haw" in '69 combined all my childhood influences.

One of the first albums I ever bought as a kid was "The Lightning Fingers of Roy Clark." Still have it. Back then, Clark was a Fender guitar artist--one song on the album is "Dented Fender." Clark played a Jazzmaster, rather than his typical Byrdland.