The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 63

User Info Menu

Joe Puma was quite the character, a diminutive, equine-faced man with a rapier, take-no-prisoners wit. He was always ready with a quick, acid one-liner. It curled your toes while cracking you up.

In my early '20s I studied with, hung around, and aped the sayings of Chuck Wayne. Puma knew me vaguely from seeing me at Chuck's house, where I came for a lesson while Puma went upstairs to take a break from rehearsing their duo.

A short while after, Chuck and Joe had a steady gig at Stryker's, on W. 86th street. Chuck didn't make it one time I went with friends to hear them. A good tenor player, somebody of the caliber of a Carmen Leggio, was subbing. I was greatly disappointed by Chuck's absence. I was also young and stupid, so I waltzed up to Joe, asking

'Where's Chuck tonight?'

I could see his mind working like a radio tuner trying to find the iciest, most withering rejoinder to put me in my place. Finally he turned to me, looking like he was inspecting an insect, and said

'As you get older you'll like my playing better'.

Worked like a charm. I was properly upbraided, and after my ears matured a little came to realize he was the better, more swinging jazz player while Chuck was one of the greatest guitar players ever.

Around this period I went to hear him at his regular gig at Gregory's, where he worked with Hod O'Brien and