The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 39

User Info Menu

I'm pretty new to jazz, but have been a long time lover of blues guitar music, new and old.

I was wondering if anyone could recommend some players or albums where blues and jazz intersect?

I'm not as crazy about the fusion stuff, I like swing better.

One of my favs would be conversations in swing guitar by ellis/robillard, to give an idea of where I'm coming from.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Kenny Burrell, Midnight blue is a great Jazz blues album, and he is a fantastic jazz blues guitarist.

User Info Menu

I like Grant Green. Very bluesy jazz player.

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Lonnie Johnson

User Info Menu

Wes Montgomery: The incredible jazz guitar (pretty much an education in itself)

User Info Menu

I really like Kenny Burrell, but Grant Green is my favorite.

User Info Menu

Many great suggestions above.
    The Blues is the heart of Jazz. Many great guitar players have The Blues at the core of their Jazz style eg. K. Burrell, Wes, G. Green & G. Benson. Some less so.
    My suggestion for this thread is by Belgian giant Rene Thomas. Perhaps not synonymous as a Blues great. However, to sustain this amount of invention over so many choruses illustrates a true master at work.
    I hope this post contributes to a wider recognition of this still under appreciated Jazz Guitar legend.

Best Wishes,
    Puby

User Info Menu