The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 38 of 38

User Info Menu

Hi everyone, I've got a thing going with Telecasters and the many sounds they can produce - so re the jazz sound I've heard old clips where the Tele very obviously has the tone rolled right off and even with the amp distorting the sound was still great for swing - so my take on it is work the controls until you get something you can use - I'm using the tone on about 5 or 7 and the volume down to about 8 or 9 on my Strat neck pickup, into a 65 Princeton with treble on 3.5 and bass on 2.5, reverb on 2.5 - the sound is quite usable for jazz and I'm pretty sure the rest is down to the players delivery

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You can only get that tone with a Fisher-Price guitar.

User Info Menu

More like a Gibson Super 400 ;-)

User Info Menu

I'm new to Ed Bickertt, just heard his name mentioned as a great jazz telecaster player, so I watched a video and came here to see what kind of humbucker he used, and why. I figured it was a PAF, and that he used it because of the fatter/warmer sound, and that especially applies to the plain strings - later went to using an unwound 3rd string (maybe after getting the PAF)?

User Info Menu

I think he switched to the humbucker mostly to deal with buzz at clubs with dirty power.

User Info Menu

Easier to get even string balance, too. From everything I've read about Ed written by people who knew him, he was an immensely practical, no frills kind of person. Somewhere there is a wonderful story of Ed being taken out to dinner to celebrate something or another in his career; he perused the fine dining menu and asked the waiter if he could get a tuna sandwich and a side salad.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Cunamara View Post