The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

A friend just sent me this link, I wanted to share it here. I've always dug George Barnes, this is great, it's played so perfect and has a fantastic vibe. Bucky Pizzarelli is the second guitarist. Great photos from the session here as well - Barnes seems like a larger than life character, a real Cat.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Great!Perfect playing from 1962!
    Thanks

User Info Menu

Technically impressive, but I find the performance rather 'mechanical' sounding. Sounds harsh even.
    You can hear these cats are used to expressing themselves in a different idiom.

Sorry, it did nothing for me (and I studied and played a lot of Bach back at the Conservatorium, so that's not it).

Thanks for sharing anyway :-)
    Last edited by Pukka-J; 05-24-2013 at 01:54 AM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Pukka-J
    Technically impressive, but I find the performance rather 'mechanical' sounding. Sounds harsh even.
    You can hear these cats are used to expressing themselves in a different idiom.

Sorry, it did nothing for me (and I studied and played a lot of Bach back at the Conservatorium, so that's not it).

Thanks for sharing anyway :-)
    I've also studied a lot of Bach and I played his works...but I think this recording is great.Recorded at old techonology without mistakes-just recorded takes I think...that is great!
    And nice arrange of George Barnes...:-)

All good Pukka - Kris I agree about the old tech/no mistakes, I thought it was a great performance because of that.

To be honest, usually I dislike 'jazzed up' interpretations of Bach, but this one I thought was really cool, with lots of charm and personality.

User Info Menu