The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 61

User Info Menu

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jzucker
    I don't know what it is but I'm sure it's not a Strat, cool though!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Billnc
    Looks like a Strat body with a Tele neck with a humbucker. Probably feels pretty good. I've been playing a strat for about 5 years through a Polytone MBV, but just recently switched to a 335. The strat played well, like butter, actually, but I just couldn't get a fat enough tone out of it, even with cool rail humbuckers.

User Info Menu

The Strat is one of the most modular & adaptable guitars in the history of electric guitars. Strat body means Strat imo. It's rather strange that there is a bias against the Strat in certain jazz circles. Jazz is music, not gear. Play jazz on what ya got.

Cool vid!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Stackabones
    The Strat is one of the most modular & adaptable guitars in the history of electric guitars. Strat body means Strat imo. It's rather strange that there is a bias against the Strat in certain jazz circles. Jazz is music, not gear. Play jazz on what ya got.
    Agree completely. Not only is the Strat the most easily customizable guitar, but it's also one of the most versatile guitars in it's stock configuration. With medium flat wounds, I find it easy to get a very good and sweet jazz tone with the neck PU due to it's placement right under the string node at "fret 24". If I could have only one guitar and had to cover many kinds of music, I'd choose a Strat (and block the whammy!). I also find the Strat very ergonomic and comfortable to hold. That's why I choose a Strat shape body when assembling a Warmoth guitar.

User Info Menu