The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 35

User Info Menu

Now, i appreciate that some of you might be forming a lynch mob at this very moment and setting off in my direction, but please be patient ... I'm a newbie!!

As I'm learning more about jazz the name that keeps coming up is Miles Davis. So I thought I should really get something by him just to see. But when I've listened to samples of his music on Amazon or HMV I must confess that I really don't see what the fuss is about this guy!

Am I missing something? Your opinions would be most welcome.

Poppster

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Listen to "So What" on the Album "Kind of Blue" to get started.
    You will hear what it's all about.

User Info Menu

Thanks Moray. I'll check it out.

User Info Menu

Not everyone appreciates Miles. He wasn't the greatest trumpet player but he had the ability to morph from one style to another over the years and was always at the forefront of any new development in jazz, and he always hired the young turks for his band. In that sense he was like Art Blakey and Frank Zappa — you had to be good and original to play in the band but it was a passport to future success — if you'd played with these guys, it was a certificate of approval that you were the best.

For the rest check out this link to wikipedia Miles Davis - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia it's far more informative than I can be here.

To put it simply, after he had broken so much new ground in the '50s and '60s he had the knack of melding jazz with what was current on the pop scene. So when Hendrix, et al hit the scene he wanted to add that to his music and keep communicating with a young audience. He kept that up until he died, sometimes successfully, sometimes not. Give his albums a listen from each decade and you'll see what a monster he was. Apart from that, he oozed charisma which not doubt helped!

User Info Menu