The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I've been playing jazz for many years.

I'm at the point right now where I can come up with ideas/themes in my head (away from the instrument) over a song that I'm happy with ... say There Will Never Be Another You for maybe a chorus or two.

It took me a very long time to get to this point, but I digress. It's better to play one chorus you're happy with than 10 choruses of garbage.

The problem is translating these ideas in real time. With a guitar in hand, and without time, I can do it. I can figure out the lines and go back and correct my mistakes.

But in real time, it usually happens too fast and it lacks coherency. Obviously, with songs I know better and have practiced more, it's a lot better. And also, with playing over things like a minor blues, I can up with many more ideas on the fly, that's easy.

Now ... the obvious solution is just to keep a cycle of practicing as mentioned above and pre-plan what I'm going to play. For instance, you have one or two stock themes for TWNBAY, that you can always rely on. And you think them out before you play them.

But I was wondering if anybody else had any other suggestions.
    Last edited by jobabrinks; 05-24-2024 at 11:12 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've heard that's the way and if you stick to it for a 5-10 years you'll be just fine.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jobabrinks
    ...ideas/themes in my head (away from the instrument) over a song that I'm happy with ... say There Will Never Be Another You for maybe a chorus or two.

The problem is translating these ideas in real time. With a guitar in hand, and without time, I can do it. I can figure out the lines and go back and correct my mistakes.

But in real time, it usually happens too fast...

1] What is in your head? What is the substance of these "ideas/themes in my head"?