The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 35

User Info Menu

Just kidding. Props to Christian for creating a great thread with lots of interesting points of view.

When I studied with Pat, he specifically called out the ability to work on long jazz lines and showed me an exercise very similar to this one. This is not to say Christian is not right. I think what he says is valid and a very important concept.

But these lines are very fun to play and helpful for learning the fingerboard...

Here's the ascending version

Last edited by jzucker; 03-25-2024 at 06:43 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Wow! two consecutive first finger-shifts! That's new ground for me... I had never even considered it! Like a micro-slide (or slur). Difficult to keep precision/accuracy at fast tempos. Django was a master at this.

Quote Originally Posted by frabarmus
    Wow! two consecutive first finger-shifts! That's new ground for me... I had never even considered it! Like a micro-slide (or slur). Difficult to keep precision/accuracy at fast tempos. Django was a master at this.
    I guess he had to be!

User Info Menu

Hey Jack... LOL... I love your Stuff

Compound Spider drills. I'm not hip with Martino drills... does he also push playing the lick in reverse.. low to High.

I know as a kid... I loved technical drills... and found that my technique really improved, like fast, both hands etc.

I know it's great to use, create relationships with and develop short licks. but generally you still are hearing a much longer phrase or Lick. The keep the bigger picture together ... everything just keeps getting subdivided etc...

Hope your doing well
    Thanks
    Reg

User Info Menu

You got there before me haha

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Reg
    Hey Jack... LOL... I love your Stuff