The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I play both instruments, neither great, but good enough for a hobbyist. Thing is, I've often felt that improvising on piano is so much easier as it doesn't have the problem of duplicate notes and a piano is so much easier to see everything. But, like I said in another thread, I'm not very good at improv anyway, so, kind of a moot point.

However, when it comes to 'patterns', the guitar is really built to see chord/riff patterns, and changing keys is so much easier on guitar, (for example, going from F to F#/Gb on guitar is a cinch, not as easy on piano) but whenever writing a song, and if I'm having trouble articulating a chord, I find it much easier to solve an articulation issue on piano. For example, I wrote a song using the guitar, and the chord I thought I was hearing was an Em7, but something wasn't quite right about it. I went over to the piano and it became clear to me that the chord I really wanted was C/E.

And, of course, I suppose I should have been able to find it on guitar, but I'm just saying the piano, for me, is easier to solve harmony articulation issues that crop up from time to time.

Another chord, two chord progression I was playing, a little more difficult to figure out, the first chord was an E maj add 9 in the first position (with the pinky on the 9 on the 4th string, the F#), and the next chord, all I did was hold that position and raise the G# (3rd string) to A (third string) and the B (5th string) to C (5th string) and so what chord as that second chord? The two chords sounded great together but I had no idea what the second chord was, so.....

so I went over to the piano to figure it out, and it became clear to me that what I was trying to articulate was actually an