The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 291

User Info Menu

I know I risk becoming a pariah by saying 'improvisation is overrated'. But, hear me out.

But, that's probably because I'm not very good at it . I admit defeat.

I started on woodwinds back in the 60s, started on clarinet in '59, switched to sax for a few years, then played flute in the high school band in the 60s.

so, I was 15 when I got a guitar. I heard Charlie Byrd on the radio, and it was at that moment I knew I had to
    study guitar. You can play chords! It's portable! And guitar is very popular. I also was into a guy named Gabor Szabo (RIP).

Anyway, I got my first guitar, it was a nylon string, because, I knew going the Charlie Bird style was the path I wanted to do.

Then started listening to Bola Sete, Lenny Breau, and so many others, even got into Chet Atkins. But, finger picking and nylon string has been my love. Tried electric, didn't like it. I don't prefer amplified guitars. I have no wrist and I don't like holding a pick. I love the freedom of finger picking. Studied classical, as well. It goes with the guitar.

But, the purpose of this post is to rant a bit on 'improvisation'. Thing is, I switched from woodwinds to guitar, because, well, playing woodwinds is all about improvisation, and if you are not a good improviser on woodwinds, what good are you?