The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

I am a beginner jazz guitarist, currently working on a few jazz standards.

I'm practising playing the changes in a tune going from one arpeggio to the next.

So far I've been using some fairly basic chords(Am7, D7, Gmaj7 etc), all chords being made of 4 notes, making them very neat to play as arpeggios as 4 (or 8) notes fits nicely into one bar of music.

Now, whats the best way to play for example a D9 arpeggio? I found two approaches:

1. Keeping the essentials r-9-3-7 and leave the 5th out of the arp. This makes it a neat 4 tones but sounds a bit weird when you play it since there's a big jump from 3rd to 7th.

2. Playing all chord tones r-9-3-5-7 sounds a lot smoother but since its 5 notes you cant fit them into the 4notes/bar thing. And what do you do if you want to add the 11th and 13th to the arpeggio?

How is it generally played out there?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

|| r-3-5-7-9-7-5-3 :||

Quick reply, thx!

In general, when building arpeggios, do you "stack" the notes numerically, (so to speak) and not by how close they are, ie th 9 also being the 2nd and thus close to the root?

User Info Menu

Six ideas, if you only have room for four notes:

3-5-7-9
    9-7-5-3

7-9-10-12 (ie 3-5, above the 7-9)
    12-10-9-7

3-9-7-5 (The jump of a seventh sounds cool)
    5-7-9-3

All there leave out the root: let the bass supply it.

User Info Menu

geezer

The most common choice of notes for D9 chord is 3-5-b7-9.
    Is the D9 (D7th) functioning (V of I... D9>>Gma7 - If D7(9) has a V-I relationship, you can also use altered tension -- Lets try a b9 instead of the 9th. Let say your progression is Am7-D7-Gmaj7. When you get to the D7th play the arpeggio 3-5-b7-b9 (F#-A-C-Eb) This will give you a D7b9 sound over the D7.
    You could also do this for 8 notes --- play 3-5b7-9-3-5b7-b9...

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by geezer