The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 68

User Info Menu

I play guitar, bass, and mandolin, and am currently playing bass at church, and mandolin in a band. I studied jazz guitar with a great instructor and player for many years. All told I have played guitar for over fifty years. I am a good reader in treble clef and I can get by reading in bass clef. Pretty much if it's written I can play it. My lifelong problem is I am poor at improvising on guitar. I can improvise pretty well on mandolin and bass, but on guitar it just doesn't click. It really doesn't matter whether it's jazz, rock, country, blues, or pop; what I play when improvising on the guitar just doesn't get it. I can't seem to come up with any interesting passages, and the flow of the improvisation portion of the song is dull, repetitive, and boring.

Here;s my question; is the ability to improvise well something you are born with, or can it be learned? Every time I find a new tip on improvising and try it I end up in the same stew; uninteresting, and not a good fit for the song. I hear others improvise and it sounds good and seems to fit the song, but when I analyze what they played it is not something that is complex, but is more often some simple patterns. If this is something that can be learned, and if so, can you suggest a teaching aid I can look for. Or am I just missing some process you can suggest that will turn the light bulb on for me.

Thanks in advance for your responses,

One_Dude

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Last time it clicked for me went like that. I started a solo, thought "boy, this phrase sucked". Then thought "would I think the same way about a person who says "good day" to me?".
    Then decided to "respect" anything that happens with my notes, and yeah. It clicked this time.

Probably you've heard something like that already though.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by one_dude