The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

I've been playing guitar for almost two years and when I try to improvise I just keep abusing chromatic approach notes which feels like a crutch and stops me from having any real melody in my lines.

I do outline the chord changes but it just sounds like a jumbled mess of chromaticism. Has anybody else felt like this/done this and how should I go about correcting it?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Stop playing chromatic approach notes for a while.

User Info Menu

I notice a lot of that in many guitarists... excessive approach notes and way too much encapsulation, other idiomatic and automatic habits. It does potentially impair the melodic aspect of lines. But the thing is, some make it sound melodic anyway and others less so; so it is not just about the "extra notes".

A lot of the support for melodic playing comes from emphasis on phrasing and articulation - which notes timed to which beats, which notes placed dynamically more "forward", etc...

I would suggest you either try stripping out the extra notes for a while and then adding them back in under more control of expression, or proceeding with the extra notes but maybe more slowly to work on catching up the same kind of control. The important thing is that you know something is not quite right but you know what you want to sound like, so keep trusting your ear to help your hands figure it out.
    Last edited by pauln; 07-14-2020 at 09:11 AM.

User Info Menu