The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 54

User Info Menu

Miles Davis, as he normally did every year, played Newport in the late 1960s, and took note of all the young rock and roll inspired people who were flocking towards it. This was an intensely pensive period for Miles, where he was searching for a new direction and approach to music. He asked noted jazz impresario (and pianist) George Wein for advice.

George simply said, "play the melody, Miles, play the melody".

Bill Frisell would state many decades later, contemplating his approach to playing music: "When I first started getting into jazz, I studied what was going on with the music theoretically and would look at things more in a mathematical way. I would look at the chords and learn what the chord tones were, what the scales were. But somewhere along the way, I tried to understand all the inner workings of the melody. If the melody isn't there, then it really doesn't mean anything. It's also where it gets harder to explain. With every song, I'm trying to internalize the melody so strong that that's the backbone for everything that I am playing no matter how abstract it becomes. Sometimes I'll just play the melody over and over again and try to vary it slightly. It's really coming from that, like trying to make the melody the thing that's generating all the variations rather than some kind of theoretical mathematical approach.Interviewer: Could you explain what you mean by internalizing the melody?
    Frisell: It's playing and hearing the melody and not playing anything but the melody until it starts going on inside your body, even without thinking about it. But the older I get, the longer it seems to take to learn new things and get it to the point where it's really deep down in there somehow."